Tacoma Hounds Crest

About the Co-op

The Co-op

Tacoma Gaelic Athletic Co-op is a 501c3 (Pending) organization dedicated to supporting GAA (Gaelic Athletics Association) competition through the development of and support provided to amateur athletes residing in the Tacoma Metropolitan, Pierce County, and Greater South Sound areas.

Tacoma Gaelic Athletic Co-op was founded in 2018 with the intent of joining the USGAA and Northwest Division.

The Co-op’s Travel Team is formed to compete in externally-facing competitions. The Travel Team competes in events where able (e.g. West Coast 7s in San Diego).

Pending participatory numbers, the Co-op will also administrate an open City League and introductory and youth clinics.

Outside of competition and GAA sports-development, the Co-op prioritizes community engagement and service.

TGAC Facebook


The GAA is relatively new to most of the United States. Anyone involved has been asked what they’re doing or (more likely) what are those weird sticks or volleyball-looking things. You may be wondering “what even is the GAA?” Founded on November 1, 1881 in Thurles, Ireland, the Gaelic Athletics Association (GAA) is a sporting and cultural organization formed to preserve traditional Gaelic sports. An amateur organization for its entire history, the GAA maintains a strong emphasis on community development and volunteerism.

GAA clubs are popping up all across the country and are being driven and joined by people who love sports, the uniqueness Gaelic games offer, their local community, and having fun with a welcoming social group and tribe. You don’t have to be Irish or know anything about Ireland to join. You don’t need any prior sports experience. All that’s required is a positive mindset geared towards improvement, supporting others’ improvement, and a willingness to get involved – everyone is welcome.

GAA growth rates in the US have been compared with Lacrosse 30 years ago. In 2015, the USGAA included 116 adult clubs and 14 youth clubs playing Football, Hurling or Camogie in over 60 US cities (not including New York City).

NW Division